Multiple Winners At The Cox Plate – Triple and Double Wins

Multiple winners are common in horse racing. Kingston Town, an Australian racehorse won the Cox Plate thrice in 1980, 1981 and 1982, the only horse to gain this honor. Phar Lap, a New Zealand gelding won the race in 1930 and 1931. Flight, an Australian thoroughbred racing mare won the race in 1945 and 1946. In 1966 and 1967, Tobin Bronze a chestnut stallion inducted into the Australian Thoroughbred Hall of Fame repeated the feat. Sunline, a New Zealand thoroughbred racing mare won the race in 1999 and 2000. Northerly (2001, 2002) and Fields of Omagh (2003, 2006) repeated it. Check for live odds during Cox Plate 2015.

Melbourne Cup Lets Australia Promote Tourism

This year the Australian government promotes tourism in the country through the Melbourne Cup. The Cup is showcased in a grand way highlighting the contribution of Australia towards the social relationship with neighboring countries. The countries interest in sport and racing events is brought out to the world. In the year 2003 the Australian government conducted an annual tour to instigate social harmony among the communities in Australia and New Zealand. The carnival is the main attraction all through the world and tourists come from across the global to view this feat. The group also visits schools and old age homes and contribute towards a social cause.